377 ELKWOOD AVENUE
NEW PROVIDENCE, NJ 07974
908-665-0311

For Children

Children's Book Lists & Recommendations

Juvenile Mysteries 

Science & STEAM 

Sports Fans 

Beyond Princesses 

6th Grade Readers

Reading Level M-N

Reading Level O-P 

Reading Level Q-R 

There are many great online resources to help you find the right book!  For leveled reading, use Scholastic Book Wizard, which lets you search by level, or look up what level a particular book is.

Look up a favorite fiction book to see read-alike recommendations with NoveList K-8. Novelist K-8 is also a good source for lists of recommended books for various ages and types of fiction.  

Novelist K-8 

Other websites that will help you find read-alikes:

GoodReads

Guys Read

Rick's Reading Recommendations (Percy Jackson read-alikes)

Award Winning Books:

ALSC Book and Media Awards

National Book Awards

Caldecott Medal & Honor Books

Boston Globe- Horn Book Awards

Garden State Children's Book Awards

Pinterest:

pinterest2

The New Providence Memorial Library has published many book lists for children and readers of all ages in its collection on Pinterest.  

Sunlight to read by

Spring is sprouting with colorful blossoms and lingering evening sunlight. It's a great time to shake off the cold weather cobwebs and get outdoors.  

Take a walk to the library to check out a book, and use the natural light to read a little longer. You can browse our full catalog from anywhere. If you'll be out getting some exercise, try downloading an audiobook to keep you going. You can even stream music from Hoopla to add a little rhythm to your day. If you're suffering from cabin fever, the library is a great place to visit, no matter the weather. Come inside and be greeted with a smile from our welcoming staff, ask a librarian for help finding information or materials, or just pick your favorite nook to do some quiet reading or work.

There's so much to do at your local library. Mark down dates from our Calendar to add to yours. Join us!

 

Upcoming Events

May 25 03:00PM-Teen Take Out Box
May 26 10:00AM-Drop-in Play Fridays
May 26 03:45PM-Math Club
May 27 10:00AM-Crafterday
May 28 12:00AM-Library Closed

377 ELKWOOD AVENUE
NEW PROVIDENCE, NJ 07974
908-665-0311