Staff Picks for Hoopla

Ebook diabetes code

The Diabetes Code : Prevent and Reverse Type 2 Diabetes Naturally by Dr. Jason Fung   

In this paradigm-shifting book Dr .Fung writes that type 2 diabetes is reversible with proper dieting and intermittent fasting. The main point of The Diabetes Code is that since overconsumption of carbohydrates in a chronic manner leads to an insulin response in our bodies that causes diabetes, the most effective and fruitful way to reverse the disease is to lessen carbohydrate consumption.

Audiobook diabetes solution

The Diabetes Solution: How to Control Type 2 Diabetes and Reverse Pre-diabetes Using Simple Diet and Lifestyle Changes by Jorge E.Rodriguez 

Dr. Jorge Rodriguez and dietitian nutritionist Susan Wyler tell you everything you need to know about this increasingly common disease-from diagnosis to treatment-including the difference between pre-diabetes and diabetes, ways to prevent serious complications, and the most effective medications and when to start taking them. The book also features recipes for one hundred tasty dishes that control carb consumption, limit calories, and encourage weight loss. 

There is a daily library-wide cap on Hoopla downloads. If you get an error message, try again after midnight. Or see our No Limit Staff Picks instead!

Ebook Fiction library of legendsoperatorperfect daughter

The Library of Legends by Janie Chang

A current Book of the Month Club selection. "The Library of Legends is a gorgeous, poetic journey threaded with mist and magic about a group from a Chinese university who take to the road to escape the Japanese invasion of 1937 – only to discover that danger stalks them from within" says Kate Quinn, author of The Alice Network and The Huntress.

The Operator by Gretchen Berg

In 1952, operator Vivian Dalton will listen in on your conversation even though she knows she shouldn't, always hoping to hear "something scandalous." Her Pawpy had advised "Just don't get caught," but her dead granny's advice was better: "Be careful what you wish for." Vivian wishes for gossip about rich Betty Miller, whose "life was always perfectly in place," but Betty has a delicious secret about Edward Dalton that's sure to ruin Vivian's life.

The Perfect Daughter by Joseph Souza

Shepherd's Bay, Maine has been home to generations of lobstermen and their families. Lately, affluent newcomers have been buying up waterfront property and mingling uneasily with the locals. Tensions are high, especially since Blair Pryce-a teenage boy from the wealthier side of town-disappeared weeks ago. But another disturbing incident soon follows.

Read more: New to Hoopla

There is a daily library-wide cap on Hoopla downloads. If you get an error message, try again after midnight. Or see our No Limit Staff Picks instead!

Ebooks girl stopyou can be happy

Girl Stop Apologizing: a Shame-Free Plan for Embracing and Achieving Your Goals by Rachel Hollis   
Founder of the TheChicsite.com Rachael urges women to stop apologizing for their desires ,hopes and dreams and instead go after them with passion and confidence. Hollis urges women not to be afraid of their goals, to own their hopes and desires and create the biggest possible version of their lives! 

You Can Be Happy No Matter What: Five Principles For Keeping Life in Perspective by Richard Carlson   
Dr. Carlson gives a simple and practical guide on how to be happy now before we solve our problems.By understanding the five principles- Thought, Moods, Separate Realities,Feelings and the present Moment-we can discover a new mode of living. A navigational tool through life's challenges and restores the joy of living.

Read more: Self Improvement

There is a daily library-wide cap on Hoopla downloads. If you get an error message, try again after midnight. Or see our No Limit Staff Picks instead!

Ebooks body in the gardencomposting basicscut flower gardengardening your front yardgardenistasummer at the garden

The Body in the Garden by Katharine Schellman

The first book in a new series perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen. In 1815 London, newly-widowed Lily Adler is determined to create a meaningful life for herself in a society that frowns upon independent women. At a ball thrown by her oldest friend, Lady Walter, she expects scandal, gossip, and secrets - but not the dead body in the garden.

Composting Basics by Eric Ebeling

Whether you have a garden or not, you can recycle household waste in an environmentally friendly way and turn it into black gold: compost. You'll learn what and how to compost, how to make or buy bins, how to build a compost pile and make compost tea, and how to compost with worms. It's simple and easy.

Floret Farm's Cut Flower Garden by Erin Benzakeim

The author is a leader in the locaflor farm-to-centerpiece movement and owner of Floret Flower Farm. Equal parts instruction and inspiration-a book overflowing with lush photography of magnificent flowers and breathtaking arrangements organized by season.  

Read more: Gardens

There is a daily library-wide cap on Hoopla downloads. If you get an error message, try again after midnight. Or see our No Limit Staff Picks instead!

Ebooks best served coldconnecticut yankeeseparation anxietythree men in a boatwit and wisdom

Best Served Cold by Jimmie Ruth Evans 

During a night shift waitressing at the Kountry Kitchen, Wanda Nell Culpepper sees a shocking customer in her section of the diner-her long-lost brother, Rusty. Wanda and Rusty haven't talked since their dear mama passed on, and Wanda thinks it's high-time for a reconciliation. But Rusty has his own reasons for coming back to their small hometown…and it seems stirring up trouble is one of them! 

A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court by Mark Twain 

A Connecticut engineer is accidentally transported back to the time of King Arthur. He convinces the inhabitants of that time that he is a magician, and uses his knowledge of modern technology to stun them with such feats as demolitions, fireworks, and the shoring up of a holy well. Twain wrote the book as a satire of Romantic notions of chivalry after a dream in which he was a knight himself, noting the inconvenient weight of the armor.

Separation Anxiety by Laura Zigman  

Life hasn't gone according to Judy's plan. And she never intended to start wearing the dog. But when she stumbled across her son Teddy's old baby sling during a halfhearted basement cleaning, something in her snapped. So: the dog went into the sling, Judy felt connected to another living being, and she's repeated the process every day since.

Read more: Humor

There is a daily library-wide cap on Hoopla downloads. If you get an error message, try again after midnight. Or see our No Limit Staff Picks instead!

Ebook fitter faster

Fitter Faster: the Smart Way to Get in Shape in Just Minutes a Day by Robert J Davis Ph.D.with Brad Kolowisch Jr.

Fitter Faster explains how to find the right balance between cardio, strength, and stretching, and slash workout times by adding high-intensity interval training. Also available as an audiobook.

Videos crunch liverhythmicamari winsor

Crunch Live: Hardcore Cardio Season 1

Get your body fit with this series of 30-min HIIT (high intensity interval training) workouts that will leave you dripping in sweat from head to toe. Boost your energy and torch over 800 calories in the process. Best part? You'll have some serious fun doing it.

Dance off the pounds without realizing you're exercising with Rhythmica Dance Cardio Party brings the nightclub to your living room with fresh fun dance moves.
 
Lengthen and tone from head to toe with two dynamic Winsor Pilates mat workouts, these detailed workouts make it easy to follow, no matter what your skill level.

There is a daily library-wide cap on Hoopla downloads. If you get an error message, try again after midnight. Or see our No Limit Staff Picks!

Ebooks paris springsherlockspring mischiefprairie spring

Paris Spring by James Naughtie 

James Naughtie sets his new, "brilliant spy thriller" (The Guardian) in the feverish atmosphere of Paris, in April of 1968. The cafes are alive with talk of revolution, but for Scottish-American Will Flemyng-a spy working in the British Embassy-the crisis is personal. A few words from a stranger on the metro change his life. His family is threatened with ruin and he now faces the spy's oldest fear: exposure.

Sherlock in the Springtime by Molly Carr 

The 'thoughts' in this book are the fruit of nearly ten years spent studying the canon and the life of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. In it readers will find much to entertain, along with enough out of the way information to interest even the most knowledgeable Sherlockian. 

Spring Mischief by Caroline Kingston  

The third delightful rural romantic comedy set in the fictional West Country village of Summerstoke follows the fortunes of the Tucker family as they struggle to make ends meet in an increasingly challenging world. Their arch-enemies, the Lesters, are pressing them to sell their dairy farm; the Tucker brothers are at one another's throats over their wildly differing approaches to modern farming; love – or at least lust – is in the air; and just to complicate matters further, a TV crew has arrived in Summerstoke to film a romantic comedy series.

Read more: Spring

  • 1
  • 2

Upcoming Events

Mar 16 12:00AM-Library Closed
Mar 16 12:00AM-Library Closed
May 26 01:00PM-Virtual Storytime!
May 26 03:30PM-Virtual LEGO Club!
Mar 16 12:00AM-Library Closed

While you're at home..

Even though NPML is closed until further notice and all programs are suspended until at least 5/1, we still have lots of content to explore.  Many of our online platforms are making additional resources available during this time and we have been creating content as well.  Check our slideshow and website, particularly Services and Books & Research tabs and facebook page for daily updates.

Read more ...

377 ELKWOOD AVENUE
NEW PROVIDENCE, NJ 07974
908-665-0311